50 Shades of Vicky

facebook page banner

They say that the depth of a girl’s emotions can be described as an onion. You successfully manage to peel the first layer of the onion only to find that there is another layer underneath, and countless others underneath that one. Could this also describe the amount of roles/personas/labels that we are branded by and must convey to those that surround us at all times?

I am my mother’s daughter, my siblings’ oldest sister, a girlfriend, a dog mom, a friend, a colleague, a news reporter and the list goes on and on. Lately, I have been thinking a lot about who I was, who I am and who I am striving to become. I have come to the conclusion that I am unhappy with where I am because I am nowhere near where I want to be in life. Since last week, I have sent 100+ emails out to news directors across the country. I’ve gotten a lot of no-replies, three of ‘We’re interested, but currently have a full staff’ and 4 “no’s.” I changed my tactics by changing the subject lines and re-wrote the email bodies. Still nothing.

The entry level reporting position is called “multi-media journalist.” Multi-media journalists (MMJ, for sort) have to always be in the know. MMJ’s need to shoot, edit/write and report their own stories. MMJ’s need to have a presence on social media websites. MMJ’s need to promote themselves.

I joined Instagram two years ago and finally reached 1,000 followers. I feel that its a pretty good feat considering I’ve never posted a half naked photo of myself before. I only posted pictures of my corgi. I began tweeting late January of 2014 and am still getting used to it. I created an “official” Facebook account where I’ve posted my projects and have been actively conversing with my viewers. Now, this is the next social media site that I will be attempting.

Here, I will post my work projects with more of a personal touch. Here, I will allow myself to be more open. Instead of just posting photos like on Instagram, I will have words to accompany them.

Follow me as I embark on my next journey towards my career goal (news anchor on ABC7), as I try to land a job as a reporter somewhere in the country that we call home, the great U-S-of-A.

Leave a comment