GARDEN GROVE, CA –> BISMARCK, ND

Tomorrow is the day that I have been waiting for.

Let’s rewind back to the morning of July 17, 2014.

I received an email from a Fox affiliate in Fargo, ND, asking me to send their news director more of my stories after I’ve already sent my reel and resumé. I sent it to her and she told me that she’s believes that I have a lot of potential and would like me to accept a position there.

I was so happy! As you might have read in my previous posts, I was going through some minor low times because I just couldn’t understand why I hadn’t heard back from anyone (news directors) in almost a month and a half.

Just two hours later, a news director for an NBC affiliate in Bismarck, ND, contacted me asking if I was still on the job hunt and whether or not I would like to hear more about a MMJ position. At this point, I was so shocked! Two job offers in the same day from the SAME STATE!

After lots of thinking, discussing it with my family, close friends and mentors and even comprising an Excel sheet over the pro’s and con’s of each station.. I chose Bismarck.

Bismarck will be able to offer me more. They are the number one news channel in all of ND, and there are so many other good reasons.

Next thing I know, I had to pack and say my see-you-later’s in just 10 days.

Growing up, I always knew that I wanted to do this. I’ve only dreamt of this. I’ve only worked towards this. For some reason, I always thought about what I wanted and dreamt of the anchor seat for LA’s ABC7. Never did I dream about what I would have to do in the in-between stage (the steps that I had to take in order to sit on that anchor seat).

But the Saturday morning of July 29th came. My boyfriend and I packed up my car, bid adieu to my beloved Gregory, siblings, cousin and my loving parents. So many feelings rushed over me. I felt sad that I had to leave my forever home, teary because I had to leave what I only know and proud that I finally felt like I have done something that has made my parents proud. Sometimes I feel like I do it all more for them than for myself, but that’s okay because it only makes me hustle more.

And 1,700 miles later, I am now sitting in my brand new apartment in Bismarck, ND, preparing for my first day of work tomorrow.

Before I end it here for today, I would like to say ‘thank you’ to my family, friends, mentors and followers. Sure, I had a dream that I’ve always wanted to reach, but I would not be here without all the people that have always pushed and motivated me to climb these steps. There are still so many steps and this is just the beginning. Thank you!

Leave a comment